What is the Equal Opportunity Commission?

The Equal Opportunity Commission was established in 2000. Commissioners were appointed by the President after consultation with the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition in April 2008. The Commission is comprised of five Commissioners, including a Chairman and a Vice Chairman.

What are the functions of the Commission?
  Work towards the elimination of discrimination.
  Promote equality of opportunity and good relations between persons of different ethnic and religious backgrounds.
  Receive, investigate and as far as possible, conciliate allegations of discrimination.
  Develop, conduct and foster research and education programmes and other programmes for the purpose of eliminating discrimination and promoting quality opportunity and good relations between persons of different races, ethnicities, religions, geographical origins, marital status, gender or physical disabilities.
  Prepare and publish appropriate guidelines for the avoidance of discrimination.

More about the EOC can be found on http://www.equalopportunity.gov.tt/